Willem Boogman


Chris Bremmers

Day Daily

I am working on a new project: the cycle Day Daily [Dag Dagelijks]. As in my earlier cycles I systematically bring up the elementary world of sound and music, usually connected with a specific, extramusical reality. Day Daily is inspired by literary, scientific and everyday interpretations of the day, and especially by phenomenological research on this topic by philosopher Chris Bremmers.

With Day Daily I want to recall the day to us, or at least the memory of that one Day amidst all days. I would also like to develop certain aspects of my music further, which is sound transmitted in space, different scorings within a piece and compositional / musical elements being in a permanent transition (liminality).

Day Daily consists of four long pieces of approximately 15-20 minutes, composed for the transitory moments of the day: midnight, daybreak, midday and nightfall. These transitory moments are linked with each other by twenty one-minute pieces, which stand for the hours of the day.

The parts of the cycle can be performed both independently and integral.

the cycle day daily
Click here for an overview of the cycle

The midnight part, entitled: ›Nous le chant‹, forms a small cycle within the large one, and contains five vocal pieces on texts of the French poet Henri Meschonnic. From his collection of poems ›Nous le passage‹ I selected:

1. aujourd’hui nous
2. on s’entend c’est la lumière
3. la lumière amoureuse
4. la nuit luit
5. un jour et je suis ce jour

The first three are composed for five singers of Schola Heidelberg (SSATB) and a trio of ensemble aisthesis (clarinet, piano and percussion) at the request of
KlangForum Heidelberg (D) and Walter Nußbaum – conductor.


April 26, 2009
Concertgebouw, Brugge (België)
17.15 tot 17.45 lezing over Sternenrest door Chris Bremmers,
18.00 concert met werken van Gérard Grisey door het Spectra Ensemble, gevolgd door de Vlaamse première van de concertante uitvoering van Sternenrest door het Spectra Ensemble, Olaf Tarenskeen - elektrische gitaar, Arnold Marinissen - slagwerk van glas, Wave Field Synthesis en Casper Schipper - klankregie.

Sternenrest in huddersfield
Een bijzondere première voor Vlaanderen! Want aan de basis van Sternenrest staan Conny Aerts, hoogleraar asteroseismologie aan de Universiteit van Leuven en Filip Rathé, componist, artistiek leider van het Spectra Ensemble uit Gent. De muziek van Sternenrest werd gebaseerd op resultaten van Conny's onderzoek naar de trillingen van de ster HD 129929 en Filip was, samen met Bert Palinckx van November Music, de opdrachtgever van de muziek. Het tweede deel van Sternenrest werd aan Conny Aerts opgedragen en het derde deel aan Filip Rathé.

Dit is voorlopig de laatste uitvoering van de concertante versie van Sternenrest. We werken nu aan de realisatie van uitvoeringen van de integrale versie, met video van Mateusz Herczka en lezingen onder leiding van filosoof Chris Bremmers.
Zie ook: