Willem Boogman




5 minutes


trumpet, violoncello, electric guitar, accordion

commissioned by

f.c. jongbloed

dedicated to

f.c. jongbloed, ensemble of music students of the Fontys Conservatory, Tilburg (Netherlands)


April 27, 2011
De Toonzaal, Den Bosch

f.c. jongbloed & Arnold Marinissen - conductor

Day Daily - The Hours 7-11

for trumpet, violoncello, electric guitar, accordion and electronic pulse ad libitum (2011)

score available from the composer

program note | toelichting (NL)

Day Daily - The Hours is a cycle of twenty-four one-minute pieces which represent the hours of the day.

The Hours were composed in groups of five: the evening hours (The Hours 19-23), the nocturnal hours (The Hours 1-5), the morning hours (The Hours 7-11) and the afternoon hours (The Hours 13-17.) These four groups each have their own scoring, and may be performed separately, with or without electronic pulse.

The integral performance of Day Daily - The Hours also includes the four ›transitional hours‹: midnight (Hour 24), the break of day (Hour 6), midday (Hour 12) and nightfall (Hour 18.) These consist of electronic pulses, providing the musical transitions from one scoring to the next.

The electronic pulses sound through two loudspeakers, one of which occupies a fixed position in the ensemble, whilst the other is carried around the hall.
The pulse alters ›during the course of the day‹ in terms of its colour, pitch, speed and location.

The speed of the pulse, and of the ensemble’s tempi derived from it, were based on the rotational speeds of the sun, the earth and the star HD 129929.

The Hours consist principally of permutations of a five-part chord of which the notes were based on the frequencies of the sun (G, A-flat, D) and of the aforementioned star (E, E-flat.) The note ›G‹ (Gea, the earth) forms the ›horizon‹ where necessary: ›at night‹, of course, the star’s notes hang above the earth and ›during the day‹ the sun’s.

(Translation: Robert Coupe)

Day Daily – the cycle

The cycle Day Daily forms a network of compositions and sub-cycles such as Nous le chant and Day Daily – The Hours.
Day Daily consists of four sections composed for the transitional moments in the day: midnight (Nous le chant I & II), the break of day (De dag daagt for organ,) midday (One Noon for six percussionists) and nightfall (»wonen is het Westen« for small ensemble.)
These transitional moments are bound together by twenty short one-minute pieces from the cycle Day Daily - The Hours. Together these represent the twenty-four hours of the day.
All the sections may be performed separately.

Back to top